Shri madhwa Vadiraja Institute of Technology & Management

Shri madhwa Vadiraja Institute of Technology & Management > News > Teachers’ Day Celebration at SMVITM

Teachers’ Day Celebration at SMVITM

Teachers’ Day – 2013  was celebrated at SMVITM as the first institutional program organised by the newly elected Student Council. The first ever Best Teacher Awards instituted by the Management were given away by the Chief Guest, Prof. K.R. Hande, Ex-Director, Dr.TMA Pai College of Education, Udupi – a  distinguished teacher-educator – on  the occasion.

The program began in the afternoon with a soulful rendering of a Sanskrit sloka highlighting the prominent and powerful role played by a teacher by equating him with gods. It was soon followed by a game of music chair for the members of the faculty.DSC03805

During the formal part of the program, the Chief Guest, Prof. Hande, said that there are mainlythree kinds of teachers: teachers who just transact information in their class rooms; teachers who transact knowledge and finally the greatest of teachers who are the transformers of their students. He also reminded the students of the three essential B’s needed for the development of an individual:  Being, Belonging and Becoming.

Prof. Dr. Ganesha. A, Dean (Academics) briefed about the aims and objectives of instituting the Best Teacher Awards at SMVITM and announced the names of the recipients of the award for the academic year 2013 – ’14. The awardees, Mr. Venugopala Rao, Asst. Prof., (Sr.), Department of Computer Science & Engineering, Mr. Rajesh Nayak, Asst. Prof. ,Department of  Electronics & Communication Engineering, Mr. Ananda Hegde, Asst. Prof., Department of Mechanical Engineering and  Mrs. Raviprabha. K, Asst. Prof., Department of Chemistry received the certificates and cash prizes from the Chief Guest. In their acceptance speeches, the awardees said that they felt honored by being selected for the awards and thanked the Management for the trust placed in them and reiterated their commitment to the growth of the students and the institution.

The Guest of Honor, Mr. Ratnakumar, Secretary, Shri Sode Vadiraja Mutt Education Trust recalled some of his best teachers and assured the teachers that the institution would take care of the needs of the teachers.

In his Teachers’ Day message, the Principal, Prof. Dr. Radhakrishana S. Aithal commended the students in general and the Student Council in particular for taking the initiatives for organizing the Teachers’ Day celebration at SMVITM in such a memorable way.  He urged the students to continue with the tradition and wished the students well in all their positive endeavors.

The formal program was followed by different fun games and activities organised by the students for the members of the faculty and all the faculty members participated in them energetically and enthusiastically. A few students enthralled the audience with their mind-blowing dance and singing performances, which were thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated by everyone. The program came to a close by 6 pm.

Priya R of Vth semester Computer Science & Engineering rendered an invocation and Devika Bhat of Vth semester Computer Science & Engineering welcomed the gathering. The Chief Guest was introduced by Ganesh U.G of Vth Semester Electronics & Communication Engineering and Nisma of the Ist Semester Computer Science & Engineering proposed a vote of thanks. Pradyumna A.G of VIIth Semester Mechanical Engineering and Rohith of IIIrd Semester Electronics & Communication Engineering read out felicitation speeches.

Shilpa Shetty of VII th  Semester Electronics & Communication Engineering, Priyanka Bhat of IIIrd  Semester Electronics & Communication Engineering, Nihal K. Shetty and Calwin Clein Palanna of Vth Semester Mechanical Engineering compeered the program.

110 total views, 1 views today