Shri madhwa Vadiraja Institute of Technology & Management



Shree Madhwa Vadiraja Institute of Technology & Management (SMVITM), Bantakal, under the aegis of the Faculty and Student Chapters of the Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE) at the institute, organized Avishkar2K14, an intercollegiate science model exhibition-cum-competition for PUC students of the Udupi and Dakshina Kannada districts at the institute premises on 18 October. 80 students constituting 31 teams representing 18 PU colleges in the districts participated in the event.

Inaugurating the exhibition, the chief guest, Prof. Dr. K.C. Gouda, a scientist at the National Aerospace Laboratory, Bangalore said that today’s students were smarter than their counterparts a few decades before and one should not be disheartened by the fact that he/she was not able to make it to the top engineering institutes in the country.  There could be hidden talents in every student irrespective of their backgrounds and they should make use of such talents utilizing opportunities like Avishkar2K14. He also urged the students to benefit from the information revolution happening globally and work towards realizing the dreams of scientists like him to improve the living conditions of the poorer sections of the country.

The inaugural function was presided over by Sri Ratnakumar, Secretary, Shri Sode Vadiraja Mutt Education Trust (SSVMET), Udupi. Dr. Ravindra H. J., Head of the Department of Physics at SMVITM & Coordinator of Avishkar2K14 gave a prelude to the event and welcomed the gathering. Mr. Rajesh Nayak, Coordinator, Co curricular Activities proposed a vote of thanks.  Prof. Dr. Radhakrishna S. Aithal, Principal and Prof. Dr. A. Ganesha, Dean (Academics) were present.

In the valedictory program held in the afternoon, H. H. Shri Vishwavallabha Theertha Swamiji, President, SSVMET presided over the function and along with the guests of honour on the occasion, Prof. Dr. Ashok Rao, Head, Department of Physics, MIT, Manipal and Sri. Shrinivasa Tantry, Vice President, SSVMET gave away the prizes to the winners in the intercollegiate competition. Prizes to winners in the science model making competition, held as part of Avishkar2K14, and a robotics model making competition, which had been held earlier for the students of SMVITM were also distributed on the occasion.

Prof. Rao, citing the ten most important inventions or innovations in the history of the human race, beginning with the practice of cultivation since pre-historic times to the internet in the present age, explained how scientific research had revolutionized the progress and contributed immensely to the comforts, health and wealth of the race.

Swamiji, in his presidential address said that just as the body and the mind needed to work in harmony to lead a meaningful life, both scientific and philosophical knowledge had to join hands in improving the prospects of humanity.

Prof. Dr. Radhakrishna S. Aithal, in his address appreciated the efforts put in by the students and the colleges in participating in the event and reiterated the institute’s commitment to nurture and develop the total personality of the students.

In the inter-collegiate category, Nithin S. Rao, Vedant Praveen Shetty and Shetty Siddanth Ramesh of the Little Rock Indian School, Brahmavar bagged the first prize and the cash award for their model Wireless Transmission of Electricity Generated from Flyover. Joel Fernandes, Harishraj and Adarsh of Milagres PU College, Kallianpur were awarded the second prize and cash award for the model Future Generation Car. Gracio, Reeve and Nihal of St. John’s Composite PU College secured the third prize and cash award for their model Robotics.

In the internal model making competition, Anush Kedalaya, Anup Kodancha and Praveen Kumar Bayari  got the first prize for their model 3D Printer.  The model Swirl Whirl made by Rao Prabhkar, Shrinidhi R and Pramod Pai bagged the second prize and the team consisted of Paratheek Hegde, Errol Pinto and Nithin Bhat secured the third prize for their model Parking Sensor System.

Mr. Siju V. Soman, the ISTE Faculty Coordinator at SMVITM presented a brief report of Avishkar2K14 and Mr. Anand Hegde, Assistant Professor, Department of mechanical Engineering delivered the welcome address and Mr. Venugopala Rao, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering proposed the vote of thanks.  Prof. Dr. A. Ganesha, Prof. Harish, Technical Advisor to SMVITM, Sri Raghvendra Tantry, Member SSVMET were present.


215 total views, 1 views today